Celebrities Feedback Rating Russian
Search

Most popular
Kazei MaratKazei Marat
Churikova InnaChurikova Inna
more persons......
News
Movies
Russia Is Great
Free mp3 download
Count of persons: 23163





All persons
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

MILLS Robert (Mills Robert)

( American architect and engineer, one of the first professional architects in the United States.)

Comments for MILLS Robert (Mills Robert)
Biography MILLS Robert (Mills Robert)
(1781-1855)
Most of his works performed in neo-classical forms, the creative originality of the method of Mills was manifested primarily in the development of plans and structures in solving problems of acoustics and fire safety.
Mills was born in Charleston (pc. South Carolina), August 12, 1781. At the beginning of his career, he was a draftsman for Thomas Jefferson, and then from 1803 to 1808 he worked with B. Latrobom, sponsored the building of the U.S. Congress. The first independent work of Mills became an addition to Independence Hall in Philadelphia. In 1836, after the construction of several churches and a number of public buildings, he was appointed architect of government buildings and held this position until 1851. Among the largest projects undertaken by them over the years - Treasury Building, the Old Post Office and the Patent Office in Washington,.

Glory Mills brought the creation of the order of Congress to George Washington Monument in Baltimore (pc. Maryland, started in 1815) and Washington (begun in 1848). The first of these is a huge pillar, crowned with a statue of Washington Kauzichi. In the construction of the second, completed in 1884, after the death of the author, was elevated to the pantheon of multi-column, which, in its original conception, was to be at the foot of the monument. Brilliant engineering ability Mills appeared to create the Upper Ferry Bridge over the River Skulkill in Philadelphia, who had at that time the widest span (105 m). Mills is also the author of several books, including a treatise on navigation on the rivers (1820), Statistics of South Carolina (1826) and American Pharos, or lighthouse on Targeting (1832). Mills died in Washington March 3, 1855.


User comments
Write comment
Write comment
Links by theme:
DAWN Robert Jr. (Robert Downey Jr.)
DAWN Robert Jr. (Robert Downey Jr.)
Sherman Mills Fairchild (Fairchild Sherman Mills)
ROBERT I

MILLS Robert (Mills Robert), photo, biography
MILLS Robert (Mills Robert), photo, biography MILLS Robert (Mills Robert)  American architect and engineer, one of the first professional architects in the United States., photo, biography
RIN.ru - Russian Information Network
   
   
   
Copyright © RIN 2002 - * Feedback

Знаменитости Видео знаменитостей Новости Отзывы Рейтинг RSS English
Поиск

Популярные
Виткомб Джадсон
Стукова МарияСтукова Мария
Кожевников Петр Валерьевич
Королев Сергей Александрович Королев Сергей Александрович
ДАФФ Хилари(Hilary Duff)ДАФФ Хилари(Hilary Duff)
ещё персоны......
Новости
Конструктор сайтов
Бесплатный хостинг
Бесплатно скачать MP3
Библиотека
Всего персон: 23932





Все персоны
А Б В Г Д Е Ж З И Й К Л М Н О П Р С Т У Ф Х Ц Ч Ш Щ Э Ю Я
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert)

(Американский архитектор и инженер, один из первых профессиональных архитекторов в США.)

Комментарии для МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert)
Биография МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert)
(1781-1855)
Большинство его работ выполнены в неоклассических формах; своеобразие творческого метода Миллса проявилось прежде всего в разработке планов сооружений и в решении задач акустики и пожарной безопасности.
Миллс родился в Чарлстоне (шт. Южная Каролина) 12 августа 1781. В начале своей деятельности он был чертежником у Т.Джефферсона, а затем с 1803 по 1808 работал с Б.Латробом, автором здания конгресса США. Первой самостоятельной работой Миллса стала пристройка к Индепенденс-холлу в Филадельфии. В 1836, после постройки нескольких церквей и ряда общественных сооружений, он был назначен архитектором правительственных зданий и занимал эту должность до 1851. Среди самых крупных проектов, осуществленных им за эти годы, - здания Казначейства, Почтамта и Старого Патентного ведомства в Вашингтоне.

Славу Миллсу принесло создание по заказу конгресса монументов Джорджу Вашингтону в Балтиморе (шт. Мэриленд, начат в 1815) и в Вашингтоне (начат в 1848). Первый из них представляет собой огромную колонну, увенчанную статуей Вашингтона работы Каузичи. При сооружении второго, завершенного в 1884, уже после смерти автора, не был возведен многоколонный пантеон, который, по первоначальному замыслу, должен был находиться у подножия монумента. Блестящие инженерные способности Миллса проявились при создании моста Аппер-Ферри через реку Скулкилл в Филадельфии, имевшего в то время самый широкий пролет (105 м). Миллс является также автором нескольких книг, в числе которых Трактат о навигации по рекам (1820), Статистические данные о Южной Каролине (1826) и Американский Фарос, или Ориентирование по маяку (1832). Умер Миллс в Вашингтоне 3 марта 1855.


Комментарии пользователей
Написать комментарий
Написать комментарий
Ссылки по теме:
Мондави Роберт
Мондави Роберт
Маллиган Роберт
Маллиган Роберт
УИЗДОМ Роберт (Robert Wisdom)
УИЗДОМ Роберт (Robert Wisdom)

Новости по темеМИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert):
МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert), фото, биография
МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert), фото, биография МИЛЛС Роберт (Mills Robert) Американский архитектор и инженер, один из первых профессиональных архитекторов в США., фото, биография
RIN.ru - Российская Информационная Сеть
СМИ

Криминал

Мода

ЗВЕЗДНАЯ ЖИЗНЬ

Политика

Театр

Герои

Государство

Искусство

Музыка

Спорт

Бизнес

Культура

Кино

Медицина

Фотомодели

Исторические личности

Наука

Общество

Люди на монетах

Бизнес

Литература

Сегодня родились

 

 

 

 
Copyright © RIN 2002 - * Обратная связь